Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers

Come to the Dark Side. Wait, wrong reference. But on that note, the story of Final Fantasy XIV continues with a call to “embrace the darkness and forge a new fate.” Which is pretty uncharacteristic for a game where you play as the vaunted Warrior of Light.

The upcoming expansion, Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers, will deliver a whole slew of brand new content and even promises to shake things up from what we’re used to seeing in previous expansions. You can watch the full trailer here:

New Races

Let’s get straight to the good stuff, now shall we? Aside from the long-awaited Viera from Final Fantasy XII, we’re also getting another beast race called the Hrothgar.

Viera – Bunny girls…I mean, Viera, are tall, beautiful, and slender and live in a primarily matriarchal society. The two main clans are Rava and Veena: Viera from the Rava clan hail from the Golmore Jungle and have an umber skin tone while the Viera from the Veena clan dwell in the Skatay Range and have a fair complexion.

Hrothgar – Hrothgar on the other hand, have a fierce and imposing appearance resembling lions. Contrary to Viera, the Hrothgar live in a primarily male-dominated society. The two main Hrothgar clans are Helion and the Lost: Helions are known for the warm color of their fur and their devotion to their queen while Hrothgar of the Lost are a free-spirited people with a more nomadic lifestyle and have fur with cold, wintry colors.

New Jobs

As for jobs, we’ve got Dancer as a new DPS job, which was pretty much already expected, and the surprise reveal, Gunbreaker, which is set to be a new tank job.

Dancer – Since Dancer has always been a more well-known job throughout the Final Fantasy franchise, it didn’t come as much of a surprise to fans when Dancer was revealed as one of the new jobs for Shadowbringers. The conversation revolved more around whether the Dancer would fulfill the DPS or healer role. Well, the wait is over. Dancer will be coming in the new expansion as a DPS job.

Gunbreaker – As the name indicates, the Gunbreaker wields a gunblade, an iconic weapon which made its first appearance in the Final Fantasy franchise in Final Fantasy VIIIl, as the preferred weapon of Squall and Seifer. Thankfully, the introduction of Gunbreaker adds another sorely-needed tank job to the game. Now, we just need another healer job.

Here’s everything you need to know about the Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers, straight from the official Shadowbringers site:

New Cities

The Crystarium – A bustling city that developed around the Crystal Tower in the years following its sudden appearance in Lakeland. It serves as a safe haven for people of all races and creeds as they join hands in the struggle against the merciless sin eaters.

Eulmore – With its influence extending across the majority of the isle of Kholusia, this powerful military nation once stood firm against the onslaught of the sin eaters. Recent years have seen a drastic shift in Eulmore’s position, with the wealthy upper classes turning their backs on the plight of the world, indulging in an endless parade of decadence and debauchery.

Rak’Tika – Once, long before its towering trees were seeds, in this millennia-old forest stood the royal capital of an advanced magical civilization-the Ronkan Empire. The stony remnants of its lost grandeur can still be spied beneath the shadowy boughs.

Amh Araeng – It was on the edges of this vast desert, occupying the southern expanse of Norvrandt, that the Flood of Light was halted. Inhospitable from the beginning, it now lies on the threshold of life and all-consuming radiance.

Il Mheg – Tucked away in the mountains, this enchanted land was once home to the Kingdom of Voeburt. When men abandoned it following the Flood of Light, it instead became home to the fae folk, the playful and childlike pixies chief among them.

Kholusia – The largest island in Norvrandt, the greater part of Kholusia lies under the dominion of Eulmore, the city of final pleasures. Compared to other lands, it is known for experiencing few sin eater attacks, a reputation which draws throngs of refugees to its shores.

Lakeland – A verdant region centered around the Source, the great lake whence it derives its name. Rich in aether, this land has long been held sacred by the elves, its original inhabitants. Nowadays, it falls under the aegis of the Crystarium, mankind’s final bastion in the war against sin eaters.

New Trials

Titania – A being of great power, Titania holds sway over the pixies and other fae folk of Il Mheg─folk who, despite their notoriously temperamental natures, bow before their ruler one and all.

Innocence – Innocence sits at the top of the heirarchy of sin eaters─the beings that emerged from the Flood to plague what remains of mankind. Beyond that, its nature and purpose remain shrouded in mystery.

New Alliance Raid – YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse

This exciting new raid written by guest creators Yoko Taro and Yosuke Saito will see Final Fantasy and NieR come together as never before! What grand adventure awaits the enigmatic automaton garbed in white?

New 8-Player Raid

Beyond the boundaries of Norvrandt lies the Empty─a land drowned in the primordial light of the Flood. To redress the balance of the elements, our hero must wield a power the likes of which the First has never known. The power of Eden.

New Dungeons

As light threatens to engulf Norvrandt, her people would seek sanctuary in shadow. Yet even the dark denies them solace. What new dangers lurk in the dungeons of Shadowbringers?

New Tribes

Pixies – Though they boast a command of magic unrivaled in Norvrandt, pixies generally limit their sphere of activity to Il Mheg, dancing amongst the winds on colorful wings. Do not be fooled, however─they are often as cruel as they are carefree.

Nu Mou – Though somewhat canine in appearance, the Nu Mou are indeed members of the fae, and make their homes in Il Mheg. They are more fairly disposed toward man than their pixie cousins, however, and maintained close ties with the people of Voeburt in its day.

Dwarves – This insular tribe dwells upon Mt. Gulg in Kholusia, its diminutive people rarely leaving the community of their birth. Dwarves are known for their skill at mining, metallurgy, and crafting mechanical marvels, but they themselves consider the true marks of dwarfhood to be respect for tradition and adherence to strict ancestral laws.

Trust System

In Shadowbringers, players will have the opportunity to challenge dungeons with a party of trusted non-player characters, including various Scions of the Seventh Dawn—through the traditional party matching systems will of course remain intact.

Additional Updates

New Game+ – This brand-new system will allow for replay of previously completed quests while retaining one’s current progression and job level.
Increased Level Cap (80) – The level cap will be raised to 80 with the release of Shadowbringers. With this will come new actions for classes and jobs—as well as new foes on which to hone your skills.
New Gear and Crafting Recipes – With new adventures come new opportunities, so expect a plethora of new recipes to craft and resources for the taking.

Collector’s Edition

You can find everything you need to know about the Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers Collector’s Edition at the Square Enix store.

This collector’s edition comes with the following in-box items:

Shadowbringers Special Art Box
Expertly Crafted Dark Knight Figure
Shadowbringers Art Book
Shadowbringers Logo Sticker Cling
FINAL FANTASY ® XIV Playing Card Deck

You’ll also receive the following in-game bonuses:

Grani Mount
Wind-up Fran Minion
Revolver Gunbreaker Weapon

Final Fantasy XIV: Shadowbringers has been confirmed for release on July 12, 2019. You can pre-order your copy of the game here.